If you need to stop a Play immediately for any reason (such as an urgent need to stop a mistakenly sent bulk message, or other incorrect automation affecting a large number of records), you will need to archive it. Note that the Play will be permanently retired.
Follow these steps:
1. Click Plays > Active from the Navigation Bar
2. Search for the name of the Play
(If you don't know the name of the Play, locate a Contact or Account that is affected by the Play and go to the Plays tab -- look for it under In Progress. You can access the Play directly by clicking its name there
3. Click the Name of the Play
4. Click Archive and confirm
Note: Archiving a Play is permanent -- but it is the only way to stop a Play instantly. You can copy an archived Play into a new one to restore your work -- but this will be a separate Play
If you pause a Play, you will prevent Play Entry, Exit, and next Play Steps from processing. But any Play Steps in IN PROGRESS (such as an email to 1000 Contacts) will continue to run, even when a Play is paused.